A Town By the Name of Salem

A Town by the Name of Salem, the Past in Pictures

$9.99

A photographic chronicle of over 200 years of Salem’s history, written by two former Salem Museum directors, John D. Long and Mary Crockett Hill.

Paperback, 224 pages, including an index, and filled with photographs.
Published by the Salem Museum & Historical Society, October, 2002

Category:

Product Description

Salem’s history dates back to the Virginia Indians who originally called this region home. The area began to be settled in the 1700s, and was established as a town in 1802 to serve travelers along the Great Road. Salem’s story is as unique as its Blue Ridge Mountain setting, but it is also the history of a community shaped by state, national, and world events. Over the years, Salem has been touched by wars, economic upheavals, and civic challenges–with a few healing, helping hands along the way. It is Salem’s people and memories that fill the pages of this book. A Town by the Name of Salem pays tribute to 200 years of life and legend in a vibrant southern town. Along with the sweep of history, special chapters look back at several popular and significant places now gone: the Lake Spring Resort, Elizabeth College, and Lakeside Amusement Park.

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “A Town by the Name of Salem, the Past in Pictures”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *